Pet peeves are minor annoyances that individuals identify as particularly annoying to themselves and to a greater degree than others do.

‘Pet peeve’ is a back-formation from the 14th-century word peevish, meaning “mildly annoyed” and pet, which means special to an individual.

annoyed frustrated headdesk head desk

A key aspect of a pet peeve is that it may well seem acceptable to others. For example, a supervisor may have a pet peeve about people leaving the lid on the copier up and react angrily, be annoyed when others interrupt when speaking, or be upset by messy desks of their subordinates. To most people, these may seem minor annoyances, but not to the supervisor. That same supervisor may witness employees coming into work late and not feel any annoyance whatsoever.


  • My pet peeve is people who say “between you and I” and people who complain about people who say “between you and I”  they think they are being hyper correct or that “me” is somehow a dirty word.
  • Slow clocks
    • One of my pet peeves is slow clocks.  Slow clocks annoy me because people look at and go by the time on the clocks they see.  For example, the clock at the  office where I work is slow by about three or four minutes, and everyone does everything, such as going to lunch, three or four minutes later.  I’m always ready to go at noon, but everyone else waits until 12:03 to go, and I get hungry.  I also find that if the clock is slow, I can miss buses by a minute and be late to work.  But fortunately the clock is slow in my office so no one notices, ha ha.  So slow clocks are one of my pet peeves.
  • Apartment speaker announcements
    • My pet peeve is the apartment speaker announcements because
  • W10 coins
    • My pet peeve is W10 (ship won) coins because whenever I get them, I can’t get rid of them, but I don’t want to throw them out.  For example, Costco has many items that cost Wxx990. At the end of the checkout bill, I often have a total cost that does not end in an even W100, so I get some W10 coins in my change.  They’re useless!  I pay by credit card at other stores, so I never have to pay cash or use the W10 coins.  I put them in the dish between the seats in my car or in my car’s ashtray, and they keep building.  Even if I remember to bring them into Costco the next time I go to Costco, I still have to live with them for about five weeks.  But that’s if I even remember to bring them.  So, W10 coins are my pet peeve.
  • Cars that hold up traffic to drop people off
  • When people (by which I mean ‘idiots’) say “evolution (as in ‘Darwin’s Theory of Evolution’) is just a theory”
    • My biggest pet peeve is when people say about the Theory of Evolution that “it’s only a theory” because they don’t understand such an important idea and want to push their bad ideas on others.  For example, when people say “I have a theory”, they’re using “theory” in the way people use it in everyday English and as a way to say “a good guess to explain something.”  When scientists use the word “theory”, they mean “so well supported by evidence as to be an established fact.”  A “theory” to scientists is the highest designation that can be given to observations.  Therefore, when scientists talk about “the Theory of Evolution”,  they’re talking about “the FACT of evolution.”  So when people say “evolution is just a theory”, they say it to discount the most important scientific theory in history to support their pet ideas.  So, my biggest pet peeve is when people misunderstand what is meant by “the THEORY of Evolution.
  • Sometimes a picture says it all:


 

